2016 Award Winners

Announcing the 2016 Honors Award Winners

Congratulations to the 2016 recipients of Association Forum's Honors Awards!

John C. Thiel Distinguished Service Award

Carol Pape, CAE, Chief Operating Officer, Association of Professional Chaplains (association professional recipient)

Doug Bennett, Senior Vice President of Convention Development, Louisville Convention & Visitors Bureau (supplier partner recipient)

The John C. Thiel Distinguished Service Award is presented for outstanding service to the Association Forum by an individual association or supplier partner member. This award has been presented for exceptional, long-term, volunteer service to the Association Forum, primarily through committee service or similar contributions. “Unsung hero” or “above and beyond the call of duty” are two ways to describe past recipients. This award is named in memory of the late John C. Thiel, CAE, the Association Forum’s chairman-elect in 1990-91. In 2010, the Thiel Award was expanded to include both association professionals and supplier partners. In the past two years, a Thiel Award has been given to an association professional and supplier partner.


Association Professional Achievement Award

Carla DeFlorio, MBA, CAE, Director, Chapter Relations, Healthcare Financial Management Association

The Association Professional Achievement Award is presented to an association professional member (not a Chief Executive Officer) for exemplary service and outstanding accomplishments in association management. This award reflects a high level of commitment to professional growth and personal pride in the association management industry.


Inspiring Leader Award

Kimberly Hoarle, MBA, CAE, Executive Director for American Society for Healthcare Risk Management

The Inspiring Leader Award is presented to an individual who has established a culture leading to employee satisfaction, motivation, engagement and achievement.