Shared Interest Groups

Join a Shared Interest Group (SIG)

Shared Interest Groups (SIGs) are included with your membership and provide a no-pressure environment to learn from and network with like-minded peers in your community. There are more than a dozen different SIGs, each meeting three times per year. Join one or all of them to maximize your learning and networking potential.

Your Career. Your Community. Your Forum.

Meeting dates and times are subject to change. Check out the calendar of events to find upcoming SIG meetings. 



Certification of Professionals                                          

This SIG provides an opportunity to meet, learn and share ideas with people who are actively involved in certification. Topics may include; implications of a program on your association, scoring methodologies, evaluation process, trends, recertification, technologies for the certification process, staffing, budgeting and many more.

Meeting Dates

August 9, 2017

November 8, 2017 

March 8, 2018 SIG Symposium

Chair

Daniel Mendelson, MS, CAE

dmendelson@osteopathic.org

Vice Chair

Cellie Morales

cmorales@smithbucklin.com

Staff Contact

Moe Malek, Manager, Membership & Engagement

malek@associationforum.org

 

Communications                                                                 

This SIG focuses on the idea-sharing and networking of those involved in communication activities at their associations to keep them informed of current developments and issues. This includes publications, public relations, media relations, advertising, marketing, and other related areas.

Meeting Dates

Meeting Dates:

September 19, 2017

January 23, 2017 - Joint Marketing/Communications SIG

March 8, 2018 SIG Symposium

Chair        
Max Moses

maxgmoses@aol.com

Vice Chair
Kristine O'Sullivan

kristine.osullivan@ahima.org

Staff Contact

Moe Malek, Manager, Membership & Engagement

malek@associationforum.org


Communications SIG is Sponsored by:

     

 

 

Component Relations                                                        

This SIG deals with information and idea sharing around the management of any affiliated or independent unit of a bigger organization. The names for these units vary from association to association. Some common ones are chapters, branches, special-interest groups, divisions, practice specialties or even the division of international, national, regional, state and local subsidiaries of the same association.

Meeting Dates

July 20, 2017

January 18, 2018

March 8, 2018 SIG Symposium

Chair

Nicole Blankenship, MBA, CAE
nblankenship@aap.org

Vice Chair

Carolyn Mensching
c.mensching@asahq.org

Staff Contact

Moe Malek, Manager, Membership & Engagement

malek@associationforum.org

 

Educational Program Development                              

This SIG provides members with information on the development and management of curriculum in continuing education, training, professional development and/or staff training for their organization.

Meeting Dates

June 5, 2017 

February 5, 2018

March 8, 2018 SIG Symposium

Chair
Debbie Denyer
ddenyer@missionpoint.com 

Vice Chair
Robert Bergquist
rbergquist@bostrom.com

Staff Contact

Moe Malek, Manager, Membership & Engagement

malek@associationforum.org

 

Finance                                                                                  

This SIG focuses on a variety of issues related to association finance. CFOs, directors, managers of finance and others with accountability for financial issues are welcome.

Meeting Dates:

October 3rd, 2017

March 8, 2018 SIG Symposium

Chair

Jim Gavin

Jgavin@chicagolandchamber.org

Vice Chair

Simon Reeves

simon.reeves@pnc.com

Staff Contact

Moe Malek, Manager, Membership & Engagement

malek@associationforum.org

Finance SIG is Sponsored by:

Fundraising and Development                                       

This SIG’s discussions will concentrate on independent foundations, subsidiary foundations and relations with parent associations and the place of development within them. Topics may include: engaging the non-profit board; foundation and fundraising resources; research and proposal preparation; and corporate and foundation relations to name just a few. Learn the varied methods and techniques necessary for successful fundraising.

Meeting Dates:

September 12th, 2017

December 4th, 2017

March 8, 2018 SIG Symposium

Chair

Stephen Peeler
stephenpeeler_Association@comcast.net

Vice Chair
Rudy Anderson
randerson@chestnet.org

Staff Contact

Moe Malek, Manager, Membership & Engagement

malek@associationforum.org

 

Governance                                                                         

This SIG is for individuals involved in governance activities who want to share ideas and network with others in this field. Meeting topics focus on a variety of issues related to association governance like elections, committee appointment process, by laws, and referendums. Board policies and procedures, board relations and affairs, and board minutes are also covered by this group.

Meeting Dates

August 31, 2017

November 9, 2017

March 8, 2018 SIG Symposium

Chair 
Michael Welch
mwelch@planning.org

Vice Chair
Jay Carino
jcarino@anfponline.org

Staff Contact

Moe Malek, Manager, Membership & Engagement

malek@associationforum.org

 

Information Technology                                                   

The purpose of this SIG is that of support, communication, expanding the knowledge base, sharing, and using online communication to add value to the services of our associations and ultimately to benefit members.

Meeting dates to be determined

March 8, 2018 SIG Symposium

Chair
Kirsten Ahlen, CAE, PMP
kahlen@gravitatesolutions.com

Vice Chair
Jim Gibson
jgibson@delcor.com

Staff Contact

Moe Malek, Manager, Membership & Engagement

malek@associationforum.org

 

Marketing                                                                            

The Marketing SIG provides an exchange of ideas and effective practices for marketing professionals in all types of membership organizations. Expert speakers, as well as Marketing SIG members, share effective practices in marketing and research methods for all association activities and programs, including member retention and recruitment, event and education program marketing, publication sales, dues renewals, and advertising, sponsorship and exhibit space sales, and other related areas.

Meeting Dates

September 20, 2017

January 23, 2017 

March 8, 2018 SIG Symposium

Chair
Mark Sterne
mark@printmsg.com

Vice Chair
Jada Peterson
jpeterson@executivesclub.org

Staff Contact

Moe Malek, Manager, Membership & Engagement

malek@associationforum.org

 

Meeting Professionals                                                      

This SIG explores the many areas of association meeting management from logistics to site selection, international meetings, technology, the law, and much more.

Meeting Dates

September 14, 2017

January 25, 2018

March 8, 2018 SIG Symposium

Chair
Blake Batterson
blake@bbproduction.com

Vice Chair
Melissa Kabadian, MA, CMP

mkabadian@prosthodontics.org

Staff Contact

Moe Malek, Manager, Membership & Engagement

malek@associationforum.org

 

Membership Development and Services                     

This SIG provides Forum members who have a membership/marketing interest with a professional support network for professional growth. It also serves as an idea laboratory for all participants.

Meeting Dates

October 10, 2017

February 7, 2018

March 8, 2018 SIG Symposium

Chair
Charmaine Osborne, CAE
cosborne@aha.org

Vice Chair
Julie Belloli
jbelloli@hrsource.org

Staff Contact

Moe Malek, Manager, Membership & Engagement

malek@associationforum.org


Membership and Development Services SIG Sponsored by:


 

 

No.2 Executives and COOs                                             

The No. 2 Executives/COOs SIG deals with the myriad issues facing chief operating officers and No. 2 executives in associations. Some topics are related to functional areas of associations and others to the unique nature of being second in command. Membership is only open to association No. 2 executives, COOs, CFOs, and vice presidents. Pre-approval is required.

Meeting Dates:

August 22, 2017

November 2, 2017

March 8, 2018 SIG Symposium

Chair
Mark Barenie, CAE, CPA, CGMA
mbarenie@ift.org

Vice Chair
Matthew Hessler
mhessler@smithbucklin.com

Staff Contact

Moe Malek, Manager, Membership & Engagement

malek@associationforum.org

 

Public Policy and Advocacy                                            

This SIG provides an opportunity to meet, learn and share ideas with people who are actively involved in government relations, public policy and advocacy. Topics may include; trends, lobbying rules and regulations, technologies for grassroots mobilization, communication efforts, policy development and management and more.

Meeting Dates

April 18, 2017

August 23, 2017 - Meeting With Congressman Raja Krishnamoorthi

October 23 2017

March 8, 2018 SIG Symposium 

Chair
Kristin Hellquist, CAE
khellquist@asds.net

Vice Chair,
Jeanne O. Tuerk, MS
jtuerk@aaoms.org

Staff Contact

Moe Malek, Manager, Membership & Engagement

malek@associationforum.org


 

Young Professionals                                                          

The Young Professionals SIG is designed for association professionals under the age of 35 looking to meet with peers to share experiences, learn more about the association industry, and network in a fun, social environment. The purpose of the SIG is to help young association professionals establish contacts and develop leadership skills to succeed in the association industry.

The SIG meets to discuss topics relevant to members' career and personal development needs, interspersed with social events.

Meeting Dates

August 10, 2017

January 17, 2018

March 8, 2018 SIG Symposium

Chair
Ashley Salonis, MPA
asalonis@aap.org

Vice Chair
Tyler Eble,
teble@adsfundraising.com

Staff Contact

Moe Malek, Manager, Membership & Engagement

malek@associationforum.org