Welcoming Environment Advisory Groups

Association Forum is pleased to announce the formation of Identity-Based Advisory Groups to provide guidance on how to advance Welcoming Environment® strategies that will enrich member experiences, professional development, leadership development, cultural awareness, and competency. The advisory groups will assist with membership outreach, engagement and retention, and ensuring representation throughout the association.

Advisory Group Charges and Responsibilities:

  • Develop strategies to increase membership and engagement among association management professionals that self-identify in one of these groups.
  • Provide insights regarding successful membership growth, programs/services, and engagement opportunities within these communities.
  • Increase the profile of members in these communities by:
    • Ensuring the submission of session proposals for signature events
    • Ensuring the submission of at least one article to the FORUM Magazine 
    • Encouraging members submit applications to the Call for Volunteers
    • Encouraging members submit applications for Board of Directors nominations
  • Collaborate with other advisory groups, SIGs, committees, and staff to streamline efforts and maximize strategies.
  • Review charge and responsibilities annually to assess needs and update accordingly.
  • One of the two Co-Chairs represents the Advisory Group at the WE Committee.
  • Other charges as assigned.

Each advisory group will consist of six to seven members led by two co-chairs with an assigned liaison from the Association Forum Board of Directors.

Please email membership@associationforum.org for more information or to get involved with an Advisory Group.  

LatinX Advisory Group Members:

Norma Castrejon, CAE, Co-Chair
Josie Hernandez, IOM, Co-Chair
Blanca Campos, MPA
Carlos Cardenas
Jay Carino, MBA, CAE
Laura Caputo
Claudia Espinel
Henry Montoya
Alicia Navarro, CMP
Jose Segarra, MNA, CAE, CNP, Board Liaison

BIPOC Advisory Group Members:

Jacqualine Price Osafo, CAE, MBA, Chair
Cie Armstead, DBA
Burt Blanchard 
Tammy Dillard-Steels, CAE, MBA, MPH
Jakeeva Lee, AHWD, CIPS
Marvin Lindsey
James Reed, Jr.
Melvin Tennant, CAE, Board Liaison 
Wendy-Jo Toyama, MBA, CAE
Jamal Turner, MJ, MSA

LGBTQI Advisory Group Members:

Geoffrey Brown, CAE
Michael Cunningham, CAE
Rob Hampton
Jon C. Hockman
Stephanie Lass
Colette Marquardt
George Miller
Bob Moore, CAE, Board Liaison 
Travis Skodack
Mitchell Stolberg
Zack Wahlquist, CAE, MS