Bree Anne Sutherland Scholarship


Association Forum mourns the loss of Bree Anne Sutherland, Association Forum’s former Director of Learning, in December 2016. Bree touched many lives known and unknown. To honor her legacy, on January 25, 2017, the Association Forum Foundation Board of Directors approved The Bree Anne Sutherland Scholarship.

Read more about the Bree Anne Sutherland Scholarship.

Past Recipients

2021 Bree Anne Sutherland Scholarship Recipient: Emily Harris

Emily is the Marketing Manager at the Association of Nutrition & Foodservice Professionals. She has worked in the association industry since 2013, after graduating with a Communications degree from Northern Illinois University. In 2018, shortly after completing a Master of Business Administration degree from Elmhurst University, Emily was awarded a Forty Under 40® Award from Association Forum. In 2020, she received the CAE credential and completed the Association Forum Emerging Leaders Program. In 2021, she will serve on the Association Forum Welcoming Environment® Committee. Emily resides in the Chicago suburbs with her husband, Justin, and their Siberian husky, Arya. She enjoys reading, baking, and spending time with family in her free time.


2020 Bree Anne Sutherland Scholarship Recipient: Bria Douglas 

Bria Douglas is the Membership and Operations Coordinator for the American College of Prosthodontists. Bria graduated from Roosevelt University with a BA in Sociology. She is a true people person and loves interacting with new people. Bria enjoys spending time with her dogs, Chewie and Chloe, and is a huge Marvel Comics fan.


2019 Bree Anne Sutherland Scholarship Recipient: Emily Thompson

Emily Thompson is the Events Coordinator at the American Epilepsy Society. She has been in the association/events industry for 2 years and has a BA in Theatre from Southern Illinois University Carbondale. She loves connecting and learning from her peers! She resides in Logan Square with her two miniature dachshunds and loves the Montrose Dog Beach.


2018 Bree Anne Sutherland Scholarship Recipient: Felicia Owens

Association Forum Foundation is proud to announce that Felica Owens, is the recipient of the second annual Bree Anne Sutherland Scholarship! Felicia, the Governance Program Coordinator at the Society of American Archivists, was selected from an impressive group of qualified applicants.

MN874FyRgap6rwmmQ8A5_Cody Czmyr Skyline-M.jpg

2017 Bree Anne Sutherland Scholarship Recipient: Cody Czmyr

We are proud to announce that Cody Czmry is the inaugural recipient of the Bree Anne Sutherland Scholarship! As the Director of Communications and Membership at Michigan Shores Club, his dedication to the association community made him the standout in a group of incredible applicants.