2013 Forty Under 40 Award Winners

Forty Under 40

2013 Forty Under 40 Award Recipients

The Forty Under 40® Awards recognizes 40 up-and-coming association or nonprofit professionals who are under the age of 40, demonstrate high potential for success in leadership roles and exhibit a strong commitment to the association management profession.


Carrie Abernathy, CMP, CEM, CSEP
Director of Education, Training, and Events
Practice Greenhealth

Lowell Aplebaum, CAE Director
Membership & Components
International Facility Management Association

Krishna Aravamudhan
Senior Manager, Office of Quality Assessment and Improvement
American Dental Association

Debra BenAvram, CAE CEO
American Society for Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition

Mark Bennett, CAE, IOM
Account Executive/Executive Director
Offinger Management Company

Michael Copps
Executive Director
SmithBucklin Corporation

Kevin Dajka, DVM
Membership & Field Services Division
American Veterinary Medical Association

Kate Dockins, CAE, IOM
Director of Leadership
Foundation Association on Nutrition & Foodservice Professionals

Gabriel Eckert, CAE
Executive Director
Building Owners and Managers Association of Georgia

Jody Egel, CAE, CMP
Meetings Manager
Million Dollar Roundtable

Paula Eichenbrenner
Vice President for Advancement
American Society for Nutrition

Peter Finn
Director of Learning & Development
Society of Women Engineers

Nikki Golden, CAE
Marketing and Communications Manager
National Association of the Remodeling Industry

Sara Haywood, CMP
Associate Director
Education Association for Professionals in Infection Control & Epidemiology

Lauren Hefner, CAE
Director Member Care
Healthcare Businesswomen's Association

David Johnson, IOM, CAE
Senior Manager
Membership Drug Information Association

Sarah Kohler
Senior Associate
SmithBucklin Corporation

Emily Lee
Senior Manager Membership and Operations
American Hospital Association

Amy Lestition, MA, CAE
Associate Vice President

Carla Lochiatto, CAE
Associate Director
Public Policy American Society of Association Executives

Angela McKay, CAE
President & CEO
CFA Society of Chicago

Shelby Meyer, CMP
Regional Director
Young Presidents Organization

Trevor Mitchell, CAE
Executive Director of Member Programs & Services
ARMA International

Robert Newsome
Director, Engineering Standards
National Marine Manufacturers Association

Erin O'Donnell-Dotzler
Director, Public, Practice and Scientific Affairs
American Academy of Periodontology

Matthew Ott, MS, CAE
Vice President Membership & Information Technology
National Grocers Association

Amanda Perl
Vice President
Institute of Food Technologists & Feeding Tomorrow

Nicole Ratner, CAE, CMP
Executive Director
American Association of Attorney-Certified Public Accountants

Jaclyn Reeves-Pepin
Executive Director
National Association of Biology Teachers

Corey Rosenbusch
President & COO
Global Cold Chain Alliance

Megan Schagrin, CAE, CFRE
Senior Vice President and Executive Director
The American College of Chest Physicians

James Specker, MBA, MIS
State Advocacy Manager
American Association of Diabetes Educators

Steven Stout, CAE
Director of Meetings & Special Events Hospitality
Financial & Technology Professionals

Melissa Walling, CAE, IOM
Membership Institute of Real Estate Management

Jason Watkins, CMP
Director, Meetings & Conferences
American Anthropological Association

Suzanna Wight-Kelley
Managing Director, Strategic Alliances & Initiatives
The American Institute of Architects

Evan Williams, CAE, IOM
Vice President of External Relations
Mechanical Contractors Association

Cheryl Wilson
Senior Manager
Marketing American Student Dental Association

Dionne Wilson, CAE
Executive Director
Association Management Center

Laura Zumdahl
Vice President
Nonprofit Services Donor's Forum